State visits to the US by Indian leaders

Before Narendra Modi, the United States officially welcomed two Indian heads of state.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh visited in November 2009, and President S. Radhakrishnan visited in June 1963.

In total, nine Indian prime ministers have visited the US.

P.V. Narasimha Rao visited twice, Morarji Desai once, Atal Bihari Vajpayee four times, Jawaharlal Nehru four times, Indira Gandhi three times, Rajiv Gandhi three times, and Indira Gandhi four times.

As India's Prime Minister, Singh visited the US eight times