PM Modi likely to take oath on Saturday

PM Modi expected to take oath on Saturday.

PM Modi expected to take oath on Saturday.

On Wednesday, the Prime Minister submitted his resignation to the President.

PM Narendra Modi, at Rashtrapati Bhavan to meet President Droupadi Murmu, is expected to take the oath for his third term as Prime Minister on Saturday.

Earlier today, PM Modi chaired a Union Cabinet meeting, according to a report by NDTV.

This meeting is seen as a preparatory step before his anticipated swearing-in ceremony.

In the recently concluded elections, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured a significant victory with 292 seats. This strong performance underscores the continued support for Modi’s leadership and the policies of his government over the past terms. The NDA’s success was marked by its strategic campaigning and robust voter base, which enabled it to secure a majority in the parliament.

On the other hand, the Congress-led Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) bloc won 234 seats. Despite their efforts and a spirited campaign, they fell short of the majority needed to form the government. The results reflect a competitive political landscape and the challenges the opposition faces in mounting a significant challenge to the BJP’s dominance.

Additionally, other parties and independent candidates won a total of 18 seats, highlighting the diverse political preferences across different regions of the country. These results indicate a multifaceted electorate with varied interests and priorities.

As PM Modi prepares to take the oath for his third term, the nation watches with anticipation for the new administration’s plans and policies for the coming years.

Modi to become the second PM to secure a third consecutive term in office.

After taking the oath as Prime Minister, Narendra Modi will become the second PM in India’s history to claim a third consecutive term. This milestone signifies a notable achievement in his political career, reinforcing his position as a prominent leader in the country’s modern political landscape.

Previously, only Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of independent India, formed a government for three consecutive terms. Nehru’s tenure set the foundation for India’s democratic and developmental trajectory, and his legacy has been a benchmark for successive leaders.

Modi’s expected swearing-in for a third term comes after a decisive victory in the recent elections, where the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured 292 seats. This win highlights the electorate’s continued support for Modi’s leadership and the NDA’s policies. Modi’s administration has been marked by significant economic reforms, infrastructure development, and efforts to enhance India’s global standing.

In contrast, the Congress-led Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) bloc won 234 seats, indicating a competitive political environment. Additionally, other parties and independent candidates won a total of 18 seats, reflecting India’s diverse political landscape.

As Modi prepares to assume office again, the nation looks forward to the initiatives and changes his government will bring in the coming years, building on his previous terms’ accomplishments and addressing new challenges.

NDA strength reduced

Despite the BJP-led NDA crossing the majority mark, its strength diminished from 2019 due to the strong performance of the opposition INDIA alliance, particularly Congress put up a strong performance, with Congress

showing resilience in the crucial electoral fight. In the elections, the BJP won 240 seats, while Congress won 99, showcasing a competitive political landscape.

Here are the seats won by parties:

  • BJP: 240
  • Congress: 99
  • Samajwadi Party: 37
  • Trinamool Congress: 29
  • DMK: 22
  • Telugu Desam Party: 16
  • JD(U): 12
  • Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackrey): 9
  • NCP (Sharad Pawar): 8
  • Shiv Sena: 7
  • Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas): 5
  • YSRCP: 4
  • RJD: 4
  • CPI(M): 4
  • Indian Union Muslim League: 3
  • AAP: 3
  • Jharkhand Mukti Morcha: 3
  • Janasena Party: 2
  • CPI (ML) (Liberation): 2
  • JD(S): 2
  • Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi: 2
  • CPI: 2
  • Rashtriya Lok Dal: 2
  • National Conference: 2
  • United People’s Party, Liberal: 1
  • Asom Gana Parishad: 1
  • Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular): 1
  • Kerala Congress: 1
  • Revolutionary Socialist Party: 1
  • NCP: 1
  • Voice of the People Party: 1
  • Zoram People’s Movement: 1
  • Shiromani Akali Dal: 1
  • Rashtriya Loktantrik Party: 1
  • Bharat Adivasi Party: 1
  • Sikkim Krantikari Morcha: 1
  • Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam: 1
  • Aazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram): 1
  • Apna Dal (Soneylal): 1
  • AJSU Party: 1
  • AIMIM: 1
  • Independent: 7

The reduced strength of the NDA, despite crossing the majority mark, reflects the gains made by the opposition. The Congress, with 99 seats, has shown significant resilience, and other regional and smaller parties have also made their presence felt in the electoral outcomes. The performance of the BJP, while securing the largest number of seats, indicates a competitive and dynamic political environment in India.

These results underscore the diverse political preferences across the country and the evolving nature of Indian democracy, where multiple parties and independent candidates play crucial roles. As the new government forms and begins its term, the balance of power and the interactions between these various parties will shape the political landscape and policy directions in the coming years.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *