From Rahul Gandhi to Arun Govil: List of key candidates in Phase 2 LS polls

Candidates include Rahul Gandhi and Arun Govil.

Candidates include Rahul Gandhi and Arun Govil.

The second phase comprises 88 Lok Sabha constituencies, encompassing all 20 seats in Kerala, 14 in Karnataka, and 13 in Rajasthan.

In the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections, voters across India will play a pivotal role in shaping the political landscape by deciding the fate of several prominent personalities vying for seats in the lower house of Parliament. From Congress leader Rahul Gandhi contesting from Wayanad to Hema Malini seeking re-election from Mathura, and Arun Govil, best known for his role as Lord Ram in the epic television series Ramayan, standing from Meerut, the electoral battleground is set for a clash of personalities and ideologies.

The presence of Rahul Gandhi in the Wayanad constituency of Kerala has garnered significant attention, with the Congress party strategically positioning him to contest from a southern state in addition. This move is seen as an attempt to consolidate the party’s base in the southern region and reinforce its commitment to representing diverse communities across India.

In Thiruvananthapuram, veteran Congress leader Shashi Tharoor is seeking re-election, facing a formidable challenge from rival candidates. Tharoor’s tenure as a Member of Parliament has been marked by his articulate advocacy on various national and international issues, making this constituency a closely watched contest.

Meanwhile, in Mathura, the “dream girl” of Bollywood, Hema Malini, is seeking another term as a Member of Parliament from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Known for her illustrious career in films and her active involvement in politics, Hema Malini’s candidature has drawn attention to the cultural and political significance of Mathura, a constituency with a rich historical and religious heritage.

Arun Govil, who gained widespread acclaim for his portrayal of Lord Ram in the iconic television series Ramayan, is contesting from Meerut on a BJP ticket. Govil’s entry into politics has sparked interest among voters, who are curious to see how his celebrity status translates into electoral success.

The second phase of the Lok Sabha elections encompasses a total of 88 constituencies spread across several states. Kerala, with all 20 seats going to polls, holds particular significance due to the high-profile contest involving Rahul Gandhi in Wayanad. Similarly, Karnataka and Rajasthan, with 14 and 13 seats respectively, are witnessing intense electoral battles, with several key candidates vying for victory.

In addition to these states, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh each have eight seats in the second phase, adding to the electoral dynamics in these politically significant states. Other states such as Assam, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Tripura, Manipur, and Jammu and Kashmir are also participating in the electoral process, further diversifying the electoral landscape.

Overall, the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections promises to be a closely contested affair, with high-profile candidates, diverse constituencies, and critical issues at stake. As voters exercise their democratic right to choose their representatives, the outcomes of these elections will have far-reaching implications for the future trajectory of Indian politics.
In the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency of Kerala, a fierce battle is anticipated between the Congress and the Communist Party of India (CPI), erstwhile allies within the Opposition’s INDIA bloc. The CPI has nominated Annie Raja, the wife of CPI general secretary D Raja and the general secretary of the party’s National Federation of Indian Women, as their candidate. This move underscores the shifting dynamics within the Opposition alliance, as former partners now vie for the crucial Wayanad seat.

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has put forward K Surendran, a prominent leader from north Kerala and the BJP state president since 2020, as their candidate in an effort to mount a formidable challenge against Rahul Gandhi, scion of the Gandhi family, in Wayanad. The contest in Wayanad is poised to be closely watched, with multiple parties vying for victory in this high-stakes electoral battleground.

Meanwhile, in the Meerut Lok Sabha constituency of Uttar Pradesh, actor Arun Govil, best known for his portrayal of Lord Ram in the iconic television series Ramayana, is contesting on a BJP ticket. Govil faces competition from Samajwadi Party’s Sunita Verma and Bahujan Samaj Party’s Devvrat Kumar Tyagi in what promises to be a closely contested electoral battle.

The inclusion of Arun Govil in the BJP’s candidate list adds a unique dimension to the electoral landscape, with the actor’s celebrity status potentially influencing voter sentiment in Meerut. With multiple candidates representing diverse political ideologies vying for victory, the Meerut constituency is poised to witness a keenly contested electoral contest.

Overall, the electoral battles in Wayanad and Meerut exemplify the complexity and diversity of Indian politics, with candidates from various political backgrounds and affiliations competing for the mandate of the electorate. As voters exercise their democratic right to choose their representatives, the outcomes of these contests will have far-reaching implications for the political landscape of both Kerala and Uttar Pradesh.

Hema Malini seeks a third term from Mathura, facing Congress’s Mukesh Dhangar and BSP’s Suresh Singh. In Thiruvananthapuram, Shashi Tharoor contends with Union Minister Rajeev Chandrashekhar and CPI(M)’s Panniyan Ravindran. Tejasvi Surya aims for a second win in Bangalore South against INC’s Soumya Reddy. Former Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel vies for Rajnandgaon against BJP’s Santosh Pandey. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla seeks a third term from Kota against Congress’s Prahlad Gunjal. Voting for the second phase began today and will conclude at 6 pm, part of the seven-phase elections ending on June 1, with results on June 4.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *