Opposition Parties Convene in Bengaluru to Counter BJP in 2024 Elections"

Opposition Parties Convene in Bengaluru to Counter BJP in 2024 Elections”

Opposition Parties Convene in Bengaluru to Counter BJP in 2024 Elections”

In a gathering, 26 political parties came together in Bengaluru to plan their strategy against the BJP in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Their main goals include creating a common plan, having joint candidates, and organizing rallies and agitations together. They will also discuss how to share seats fairly and propose changes to improve the voting process.

The meeting shows a unique effort by various parties to work as a team and challenge the ruling party. It signifies a strong determination to stand united against the BJP in the upcoming elections, presenting a potentially game-changing shift in Indian politics.

Opposition Parties Convene in Bengaluru to Counter BJP in 2024 Elections"
Opposition Parties Convene in Bengaluru to Counter BJP in 2024 Elections”

The Participating Parties:

1. Indian National Congress: As the primary opposition party, the Congress leads the charge with 80 MPs (49 in Lok Sabha and 31 in Rajya Sabha). It holds power independently in Karnataka, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Himachal Pradesh, while being part of ruling coalitions in Bihar, Tamil Nadu, and Jharkhand.

2. All India Trinamool Congress (TMC): Led by Mamata Banerjee, TMC stands as a strong regional force with power in West Bengal and 35 MPs (23 in Lok Sabha and 12 in Rajya Sabha). The party also has legislators in other states like Meghalaya.

3. Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK): Under Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M K Stalin’s leadership, DMK wields considerable influence in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, with 34 MPs (24 in Lok Sabha and 10 in Rajya Sabha).

4. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP): Governed by Arvind Kejriwal, AAP holds power in Delhi and Punjab and has 11 MPs (one in Lok Sabha and ten in Rajya Sabha).

5. Janata Dal (United): Led by Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, JD(U) has 21 MPs (16 in Lok Sabha and five in Rajya Sabha) and plays a pivotal role in Bihar politics.

6. Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD): Led by Lalu Prasad, the RJD is a constituent of the Bihar administration, with Tejaswi Yadav as Deputy Chief Minister, and six MPs (all in Rajya Sabha).

7. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM): Led by Chief Minister Hemant Soren, JMM leads a coalition government in Jharkhand, with three MPs (one in Lok Sabha and two in Rajya Sabha).

8. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) – Sharad Pawar Group: Founded by Sharad Pawar, NCP faced internal division since the opposition parties’ Patna meeting. One faction joined the Maharashtra government with BJP and Shiv Sena, while the Sharad Pawar faction aligns with the opposition Congress and Shiv Sena (UBT).

9. Shiv Sena (UBT): The party, founded by Babasaheb Thackeray, experienced a split last year when a group of MLAs led by Eknath Shinde allied with BJP. After the 2019 Maharashtra polls, Shiv Sena joined hands with NCP and Congress to form the Maha Vikas Aghadi government.

10. Samajwadi Party (SP): Led by former Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, SP serves as the principal opposition party in Uttar Pradesh, sending the maximum number of members to Lok Sabha, with three MPs in each house.

11. Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD): RLD derives its support primarily from western Uttar Pradesh and is led by Jayant Chaudhary, son of party founder Ajit Singh, with one MP in Rajya Sabha.

12. Apna Dal (Kamerawadi): Led by Sonelal Patel’s wife Krishna Patel and daughter Pallavi Patel, Apna Dal is aligned with Samajwadi Party, while Apna Dal (Sonelal) led by Union Minister Anupriya Patel is a member of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance.

13. Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (NC): Led by former Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah, NC holds a significant position in Jammu and Kashmir with three Lok Sabha members.

14. Peoples Democratic Party (PDP): Led by former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, PDP does not currently have representation in Lok Sabha but remains an influential player in Jammu and Kashmir politics.

15. Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)): The principal party in the Left bloc, CPI(M) governs Kerala under the LDF government and holds influence in states like West Bengal, Tripura, and Tamil Nadu, with eight MPs (three in Lok Sabha and five in Rajya Sabha).

16. Communist Party of India (CPI): Also, part of the ruling LDF in Kerala, CPI has two MPs in each house.

17. Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Liberation (CPI-ML): The party is part of the ruling coalition in Bihar and is led by Dipankar Bhattacharya, with 12 MLAs in the state.

18. Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP): An essential component of the Left bloc, RSP holds one Lok Sabha seat from Kerala and has some support in states like West Bengal and Tripura.

19. All India Forward Bloc (AIFB): Founded by Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, the AIFB, although currently not represented in Parliament or state assemblies, retains some support in states previously dominated by Left parties.

20. Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK): Led by Rajya Sabha MP Vaiko, MDMK is a part of the DMK-led alliance in Tamil Nadu and enjoys support in both Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

21. Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK): Led by Thol. Thirumaavalavan, VCK is also part of the DMK-led alliance in Tamil Nadu, with Thirumaavalavan serving as its Lok Sabha MP.

22. Kongunadu Makkal Desia Katchi (KMDK): Led by businessman-turned-politician E R Eswaran, KMDK holds significant support in western Tamil Nadu and aligns with the DMK-led alliance. The party’s Lok Sabha member, A K P Chinraj, won on the DMK symbol.

23. Manithaneya Makkal Katchi (MMK): Led by M H Jawahirullah, MMK is another participant in the DMK-led alliance in Tamil Nadu. Jawahirullah currently serves as an MLA and is a member of the All-India Muslim Personal Law Board (AIMPLB).

24. Indian Union Muslim League (IUML): Mainly based in Kerala, IUML has been a longstanding ally of the Congress and holds three members in Lok Sabha and one in Rajya Sabha.

25. Kerala Congress (M): Based in Kerala, Kerala Congress (M) has one Lok Sabha and one Rajya Sabha member and contested the 2021 assembly polls as part of the CPI(M)-led LDF.

26. Kerala Congress (Joseph): Also based in Kerala, Kerala Congress (Joseph) was part of the Congress-led UDF and emerged as a main challenger to the CPI(M)-led LDF in the last Assembly polls.

The first day of the joint meeting of 26 opposition parties in Bengaluru concluded with the slogan ‘United We Stand.’ With an eye on the 2024 General election, leaders discussed crucial issues and aimed to present a united front against the ruling BJP government. DK Shivakumar, Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister, oversaw the preparations, while a five-star hotel accommodated all opposition leaders. Meanwhile, the BJP prepares to counter the alliance of 38 parties in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) with their own meeting in Delhi.

Opposition Parties Convene in Bengaluru to Counter BJP in 2024 Elections"
Opposition Parties Convene in Bengaluru to Counter BJP in 2024 Elections”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *